“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.” 1 Peter 5:6 NIV

Everyone has their own set of skills, gifts, and talents. But it’s not all the time that everyone’s talents are acknowledge. For some people, it gets a little frustrating. It happened to me earlier this year. I’ll be talking more about that in a separate blog post.

I knew deep down inside that in due time, in God’s time, God will give the appreciation to His faithful servants. He’s the one who gave the talents, so He knows when what He gave are not being misused.  He gave us talents so  that He will be praised and not us. Who compliments the instrument but not the musician? Who praises the masterpiece and not the Master?

I’ve experienced moments where I would just want to boast and show off the things that I can do. But would God be proud of me if I do so? Isn’t  that just  glorifying myself? In those moments, God reminds me of a passage in the Bible written by the apostle Peter to the Christian gentiles:

“God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”

Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.

1 Peter 5:5b-6

The first part was actually from the book of Proverbs, chapter 3, verse 34. It is a reference to what Peter then added about being humble and being lift up in due time.

So I try my best of being humble. Will I ever be “lift up” aside from the time Jesus returns and comes back for his people? I don’t know. It’s a leap of faith.

Then on the 24th of October 2013 my time to shine came.

I became the guest for that day’s episode of Ikaw Naman! (Now You!/ Your Turn!), a show on our university’s radio station which features literary works submitted by students. Not everyone gets a chance to guest live. But that episode, I was live on-air. It was my first time to sing on live radio.

I was informed that the whole episode will be all about me since two of my works were chosen. Having a whole episode, 45 minutes roughly, about yourself is really generous and overwhelming. Yet I kept in mind that the whole thing isn’t actually about me. It’s about God. Everything I do is ultimately about Him. So I made it a point to mention Him in the course of the episode.

This is just a short testimony on how being faithful to God and making Him bigger in our lives will reap great blessings. Blessings that aren’t just little but grand and more than we could ever imagine.

All glory belongs to Him!

Photo from the radio program guesting. Me in the middle, God in the bigger picture
Photo from the radio program guesting. Me in the middle, God in the bigger picture
One thought on ““Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.” 1 Peter 5:6 NIV

Leave a Reply

