Alabaster Jar

 

Have you ever had that moment while worshiping where you just had a lost for words? When you just felt the gravity on your knees, and found yourself face to face with the ground? That moment when you felt that what you offer to the Lord is not just enough? That moment when you just want to lay down all you have at God’s feet?

Last night was the first overnight Prayer and Praise Celebration our church had for the year 2013. It was divided into to sessions, 8 in the evening to 12 midnight and 1 to 5 in the morning. I helped with the Tech/Media team during the first session, and I was a member of the worship team for the second session.

During the praise and worship of our team our line up had a sudden change. It was to be expected since during this kind of celebrations, at the time when things are supposed to be quiet, spiritual warfare is very much likely to happen. We had no concrete idea what songs our worship leader would sing next so it was a practice of faith. And as the Spirit lead, we had a glorious flow of worship.

As we sung the songs that were impressed to our worship leader, I felt how glorious and majestic our God is. I felt how holy He was and how unworthy I was of His love and attention. Whatever I was offering Him felt like it was insufficient compared to His glory. So I knelt and bowed down. I know I am unworthy and yet He had said that the best we can offer to Him is our whole being, our whole selves, our everything. We must lose ourselves for Him to shine through – the art of losing ourselves in bringing Him praise.

That was a first for me. It was the first time that I was onstage that I knelt before my King and dropped everything for Him. I dropped my gaze, I dropped my knees, I dropped my body, I dropped my mic. In that moment it was just me and the Lord. It was just me offering my life to the Lord, a living sacrifice.

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.” Romans 12:1

Yes, my life is committed to the Lord. But do I act like it in everyday life? Or has my pride taken over? Bowing down to God is a symbol of how great God is and how little we are compared to Him. We are giving reverence to Him when we do so. It’s a biblical act of worship (“Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the LORD our Maker;” Psalm 95:6). And it’s also a demonstration of our love to the Lord (“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.” Deuteronomy 6:5). By bowing, we are humbling ourselves to the Lord, and we are showing our undivided love. We’re laying at His feet all that is us.

Everyday we need to be reminded that it’s not through our own efforts that we have achieved wherever we are today. It was only through God’s grace that we are saved. Everyday we need to be that sinful woman who wiped Jesus’ feet with her hair and tears. She was not worthy to be in the presence of Jesus but because she has humbled herself and that she had faith, she was forgiven for her sins.

“When one of the Pharisees invited Jesus to have dinner with him, he went to the Pharisee’s house and reclined at the table.  A woman in that town who lived a sinful life learned that Jesus was eating at the Pharisee’s house, so she came there with an alabaster jar of perfume. As she stood behind him at his feet weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears. Then she wiped them with her hair, kissed them and poured perfume on them.”… “Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.” “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.” Luke 7:26-38, 47, 50

She has lowered herself to a position where others think of as pitiful. Other people see themselves as not belonging to to her place. We should not be those kind of people. We should not think of ourselves higher than anyone else. That’s pride. And God detests pride.

In a battlefield, who are the ones that are killed more easily? It’s the ones who are exposed. They’re usually the ones who are above or in high places, over the fort. They arrogantly show-off their weapons and how they can take on anyone, yet they die. The ones who are taunted as cowards who stay hidden in their forts are the ones who survive and live to see the victory. It’s no different with our life with Christ. Those who raise themselves up are easy targets of the enemy. But if we humbly kneel down at the feet of the Lord, we are secured.

At the lowest place at God’s feet is the highest and safest place one could ever be.

Leave a Reply

