Keep Calm and Love On

Image

 

Today is Valentine’s Day and people fawn over this day so much. But personally, I think this holiday or whatever you may call it is too commercialized. For me, the idea of love has been distorted with simply romance and gift giving through this celebration, when in fact the real meaning of love is so much more. 

So earlier today I decided to hand out origami hearts with hand-written love notes on them. What was my purpose? Well, these are the thoughts that ran through my mind:

Why not take the opportunity of using this day to share what real love is to those who don’t know? How ’bout pointing them to the One True Love? 

Since, you know, people are looking for some sense of love – desperately searching for it in the wrong places – during this season and I pretty much believe that the only kind of love they need is found in the numbers 3:16.

And from those thoughts arose the idea of giving out of origami hearts. That idea wasn’t quite original. It was inspired from what my friend Kuya Alxis’ (alxis-anew) did last Valentine’s Day. He also gave out origami hearts with messages in them.

I also thought that instead of complaining and being glum over not getting anything for this day – which is highly self-centered – I should be the one who is giving. There is truth in the saying “to give is better than to receive.” There’s a certain joy that comes when you see people feel appreciated and loved by the simple gestures and handmade crafts you give. “It is more blessed to give than to receive.” Acts 20:35

God has overflowed me with His awesome, extreme, everlasting, unfailing love. And it is part of our job to share that love to others. John 3:16 is for everyone. 

Giving out those origami hearts was a real mixed experience. There were recipients who let out a loud “aww!” after reading what’s inside the heart. There were others who felt awkward at receiving something from a random stranger. There were people who denied the heart and said that they didn’t believe in Valentine’s Day. There were guys who asked if I had my number in the hearts. Of course my number wasn’t in any heart and said that I was too young to be giving it out to random strangers. I also got comments saying that I was a very sweet person.

Among all those reactions I got, there’s one that stands out and brought out the real purpose of this activity. I gave a heart to a girl at a waiting shed, obviously not in the bad mood. I guess she was also frustrated for not being able to get something from someone this Valentine’s Day. So I approached her and asked her if is it okay if I gave her something. I handed her a heart and I saw in her eyes that she was touched. And that was my goal: to make people feel loved even if they don’t have a romantic thing. I greeted her Happy Valentine’s, smiled and left.

I actually didn’t sign the hearts because people might think I’m campaigning for the upcoming university elections. And some may think that the whole thing was a stint for me to get a Valentine. I didn’t sign the hearts because I don’t want to be the one who is given the attention. I’d rather be the no-name heart giving girl. It’s not me who should receive the praise, it should be God. He’s the real deal when it comes to love. He must be the one who is glorified.

I may not be able to get an update on whatever may happen to those people who received or got an origami heart. But I know that God has great plans for them. And I trust God that the origami hearts I left in some stores at the Shopping Center will be taken home by someone who needs it. 

What I gave them may seem plain on the outside, but I believe that it was the best I can offer – the knowledge of how much God loves them.

“This is what love is: it is not that we have loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the means by which our sins are forgiven.

 Dear friends, if this is how God loved us, then we should love one another.” 1 John 4:10-11

Leave a Reply

